Antique Tractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got this guy tonight. Anything anyone can tell me about it. Has some extra seed plates with it. Any way to tell what each are for. How's about a free PDF downloadable manual site. Will take all the info I can get. Never had a planter before so any info is good info.

·
Registered
4,485 Posts
Oh My goodness ........... On the first pic I thought I saw John Deere written on that planter ???????????????? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
bettyp said:
Oh My goodness ........... On the first pic I thought I saw John Deere written on that planter ???????????????? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Yep Betty its true. I finally own something made by John Deeere.....................

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What could I plant this fall?? Remember I'm pretty new to all this farming,gardening stuff.....

·
Premium Member
1,970 Posts
Talk about handy with a big garden. Glad you got it. If you have some corn seed left you are going to use drop one in the slot and see if it fits. The main thing is to be sure it don't break the kernel when it goes through. Put some in each hopper and just let it down just enough for the wheels to drive it and you can see how close it is planting the seed and if any are being broke. I think Ky Wonder made a video on setting one up and posted on this site. Don't think it was a John Deere but they all work pretty much the same. On all I've ever used you move the chains to different cogs to set the distance you want to plant but my guess is its going to be pretty close right now. We plant both corn and beans with ours.

·
Registered
530 Posts
bettyp said:
Don't worry Betty some ford red paint can cover than nasty JD tag, anyway it's always nice to see a ford pulling a deere.

Kirk

Boy OH Boy set my foot in that didn't I Kirk :?: :?: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
gordon1121 said: