Antique Tractors Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought an un-styled Allis Chalmers WC speed patrol. The serial number is 74311. The last W.C. un-styled W.C. tractor made was 74330.
That puts my tractor 18th from the last WC un-styled tractor made.
The reason I'm asking is because the original owner passed down talk that it was the last un-styled speed patrol grader made. Are more precise records available.
It dont really make it any different because all they did was put some style in the Sheetmetal in 1940.
Just curious.
I have been rebuilding the carb and magneto and located some rear tires. I hope to drive it up on the trailer instead of winching it on.
Any knowledge is welcome and appreciated. Im new to the Allis Chalmers ,WC model.

·
Administrator
4,230 Posts
If I were a betting man I'd wager it was the last unstyled Speed Maintainer.
There should be another serial number stamped on the grader part, but I have no idea where.
TractorData.com Allis Chalmers WC Speed Maintainer tractor information
Even if it's not, you have found a very unique piece and in very good condition for it's age.
A styled Road Maintainer would be even more rare.
I would be very interested in what you find. Keep us updated on your progress.

·
Premium Member
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is where it gets a little off on accurate information. My tractor does have the tag on the front frame that says 1E-16 0 or 1E-160. So that makes it after the 1940 model change.

During the model change some un-styled may have been in inventory and used. I dont see any indication that this was changed over. The original paint on the underside of the frame looks original.
The early ones like mine have the front extension added on. Later the had a full length channel frame.

Your link shows mine in 1940
.http://www.tractordata.com/industrial-tractors/000/2/4/245-allis-chalmers-wc-speed-maintainer.html