Antique Tractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a little help trying to get my B started. This is that tractor that I have been working on/off for the last 6 months.

Tonight I got everything all set up and ready to go. I turned it over and didn't get anything for a while, I did start to smell gas. I also might have kept fouling the plugs too from the piston oil.

After making some adjustments I got it to pop but weak. I had the wires on the cap backwards so I think. Could it be possible that the mag is 180 degrees off (different mag I put together from scratch)? What are the symptoms of a mag 180 degrees off?

I put new plugs in, new wire set (7mm solid copper core) new boots and connectors. All new wiring on the tractor, alternator, new oil and filter, carb completely gone through with a kit and drilled the ports, mag was torn all the way down and evaluated with some new parts (had good spark on bench test, white spark on the screwdriver)

I am in the process of uploading the whole starting sequence tonight when I first tried.

·
-Willy-
1,420 Posts
Biggest mistake of all the John Deere tractors is trying to start them with out much throttle. Open that bad boy up to start it. Idle it down after.

-Take the plugs out and lay them beside each cylinder (still connected to mag). Hold your finger across the hole and wind the engine over. When did the spark happen?
-Are they new plugs? Or are you using some you had lying around?
-You do realize new wires are no longer copper right?
-I am sure this is a pointless question, how much compression do you have?
-Is the fuel new? Todays fuel, anything older than a month will not have the same punch as the stuff that has recently been pumped.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It has a wico X magneto which has points inside. I matched it exactly to the mag that came off the tractor with the addition of newer parts and such.