Antique Tractors Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an MF 185 backhoe and can't get the rear arm to lift. The front loader works fine, aside from needing to work some air out of the lines. When I bought it, one of the hydraulic lines to the rear bucket was busted and it had been setting for awhile. The line has since been replaced, but the arm still doesn't move. It looks like there's pressure getting to the bottom cylinder, but not through the lines. My uncle took it apart and put it all back together. I found a heavy duty spring about one inch long on the ground afterwards that looks like it's for hydraulics, and I think perhaps he removed it and didn't put it back, but he doesn't remember anything about it. I've checked the hydraulic valves under the controls but they all have springs. I'm not very experienced with hydraulics, and am looking for advice on whatever might be the problem and where that spring is from.

I've attached some photos of the spring and the backhoe. Any help would be very greatly appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
757 Posts
pressure check the pump first.
then pressure check at the manifold.
then at each cylinder (they should all have the same reading)

After all that works. Try to see what happens if you try to move the suspect cylinder manually with no hoses. Pay attention the the shaft. If it doesnt move at all by hand, look to see if there was recent welding done in the area. I have seen numerous welders that will attach the ground to that nice shiny rod and as soon as they start the arc where ever. Zot! No more cylinder.

·
Registered
449 Posts
Did he just replace the hose? Hard to tell size of spring, it does look like a spring that could have come out of a valve but wouldn't just fall off tractor. Do any of the other functions work at the rear? Does the backhoe have a separate pump from the loader, PTO pump maybe?