Antique Tractors Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
have a friend who is always on me why dont i trade 2 or 3 of my old masseys on a new tractor called today went to put 120 hp jd 4 years old in main shop to service it tryed starting turned slow so put booster on it got it running but wouldnt move called dealer they said if power level went below 9 volts they would have to reprogram computer he told them to bring new battery and program it 4 hours and 680 dollars later it drove out of shed i asked him to explain again to me why i want a new tractor my masseys have 4000 or less hours and allis 6500 maybe if i was a megga farmer but we plant varoius plots of veg with different planters weekly and would spend half my time hooking unhooking and setting up planters instead we just jump on and go :? ;) :)

·
Registered
315 Posts
In 60 years I wonder how many of these new ones will be still running? I have used a 6405 Deere to cut and rake hay but its easier and can turn quicker with a 3020 or my 2510.......

·
Administrator
4,283 Posts
New and improved....... ain't always. :roll: I'll stick with my old gas burners.
I don't want a computer running my tractors, and it's less expensive than diesel nowadays. ;)

·
Registered
2,499 Posts
i hear ya.. my 'new' tractor is a 2002 NH 7610s one of it's hyd valve packs on the rear went bad back in 04 or 05 maybee.. 700$. I've bought entire tractors for 700$ before.. :) and this was a part that would fit in a shoebox.. :)

·
Super Moderator
1,706 Posts
Working on old tractors is a whole lot easier than newer ones for sure. Fuel, spark, and air, it's running. :D Not this mulivolt, resistance grounding stuff. That's progress though I guess :roll:

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·