Antique Tractors Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know what your thinking.... No, I'm not switching colors or losing my mind, just thought I would add a little color to the family. I called a friend in Indiana to see how he was doing, well during conversation he spoke of a couple tractors "JD" that he was going to sell, as it ends up I quess I'm buying a 1947 slant dash long hood, he fired it up while on the phone and it only spun a couple times and fired off delivering that famous John Deere sound, he told me it runs great, brakes are good, tires are good shape, 12 volt charging works, has good sheetmetal, and has 3-point lift which he took off but comes with it,if I can get the time this weekend I'll go after it...10hr trip both ways. Is there any precautions I should watch for on this model? I'm totally new to John Deere...and yes there will be pics..lol

Thank
Jim

·
Registered
107 Posts
I'm thinking my next one will be a slant dash A with the rounded fenders. Grandpa had one and I want one just because he had one. I will be waiting for the pics! :)

·
Registered
1,794 Posts
The clutch drive was loose on mine and torn up the crankshaft snout....NOT a cheap fix...oh and everything JD green is made of gold :lol: Good luck and have fun :)

·
Registered
1,794 Posts
Lovesthedrive said:
Forgive me, I now know the difference of style and not, but slant dash? Is that like the predecessor to the 50 and 60 series?
Ist the electric start option....they extended the hood towards the driver with extra panels to hide the battery and slanted the gauge face

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #6